Books, books, books!

(It’s a lovely word that is worth repeating three times.)

This gorgeous list of The 20 Most Beautiful Bookstores in the World has got me all hot and bothered. In a sexy way, because books are sexy. Yes. Be still, my beating heart!

Out of the 20 listed, I’ve only visited one, and that’s the Shakespeare & Co. book shop in Paris, where James Joyce’s Ulysses was first published. I visited quite a few grand old churches the last time I was in Europe, but (and this probably isn’t a surprise to the people who know me) the closest I came to religious experience happened in this bookstore.

Now I’d love to design a travel itinerary that revolves around the other 19 places on that list.

What’s your favourite bookstore? If you could design your ultimate bookish experience, what would it look like?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Dandy Lion
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 19:40:52

    My life will only be complete once I’ve visited all 20.

    Reply

  2. Nick
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 21:21:50

    I don’t suppose you’ve read the front page of yesterday’s Sydney Morning Herald?
    http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/books/from-hornsby-to-new-york-how-an-erotic-ebook-became-a-1m-blockbuster-20120311-1uso5.html
    The article’s worth a read for interest sake, but the point relevant to this post is the concept it envisions of the future bookstore. Prefaced with the rather disheartening prediction that the days of print are numbered, it does present an alternative that’s not as bleak as I might have imagined given the absence of a tangible book.
    Expanding a little on the idea in the article, picture a gathering of literary enthusiasts who come not to heft the weight of book in their hands and riffle the pages, but instead to browse, download, share and distribute. And add a splash of coffee for good measure. It could be coming to a suburb near you (or not so near you any more :p )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

