The deep dark pit of cynicism

I have a confession to make: since the election, I have not felt the tiniest political stirring. I haven’t signed any petitions. I haven’t written any angry letters. I haven’t yelled at the news or even posted many links on Facebook.

The only exception was a couple of days after the election when Mr. Abbott effectively flipped everybody the finger by gleefully pronouncing himself the Minister for Women. The sheer outrageousness of that moment seems to have blown my political fuse, and now when it comes to our illustrious new government I can’t even manage to get my feathers ruffled.

This makes it sound all nice and peaceful but it’s really just depressing. I can’t bring myself to care any more because I am not represented by my government. The Prime Minister is supposed to represent the interests of the entire nation (not just those that voted the winning party in), but in this case, through either ignorance or malicious buttheadedness, he is not capable of doing so.

The headlines say that Carbon emissions must be cut ‘significantly’ by 2020 according to the latest UN report, and I can’t even be bothered to read the article. I feel like I have been reading that exact article for almost ten years now and nothing is happening and no one is listening. It doesn’t matter whether the scientific consensus on climate change is at 7% or at 97%; not a single fuck is given by Tony Abbott. Not even a single one.

And what am I going to do about it if untrained, unqualified, incompetent people are spouting their opinions about climate change all over the media as if they actually had a smidge of veracity to them? People with scientific qualifications are just promoters of ‘left-wing zealotry’, anyway, and what can you do when people have their heads buried so deeply in the sand that their faces are being melted off by the core of the earth?

Thousands of people are going to the climate change protest on November 17th and while I wish them all the best, I just can’t find the energy to join them right now. Nobody is listening. Abbott only listens to those who suit his political agenda, and there were enough of them to vote him into office so why should he give a flying hoot what anyone else says? Even if they have devoted a lifetime of study and careful scientific analysis to the area, I mean, what would they know about it, really?

Sigh.

Look, I’m sure this is just a phase and I will be back to writing angry ranty things on facebook in no time (cause that’s totally the best way to effect political change, doncha know). For the moment I have just given up.

I hope everyone else keeps fighting the good fight.

Nope.

Leave a Reply

